Ittefaq public discussion on ‘Excellence in Journalism’ at ULAB

Speakers at public discussion.


Prominent Bangla newspaper the daily Ittefaq in association with Media Studies and Journalism (MSJ) department at University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh (ULAB) organized a public discussion on “Excellence in Journalism” at ULAB on December 5, 2018. Marking the 66th founding anniversary of Ittefaq, the daily had been organizing event partnering with different educational institutions.

At the outset, hosts gave an insight into the journey of Ittefaq and vast contributions of Manik Miah, founding editor of Ittefaq, to journalism. After that, an insightful video was screened showcasing the history of Ittefaq. Next, Tareen Hossain, executive director of the daily Ittefaq and editor of Ittefaq Online, delivered speech on behalf of the Ittefaq, further mentioning about the significant contribution of Manik Miah and Ittefaq in the country’s liberation war. She talked about how ethical and responsible daily Ittefaq has always been. She said, “Now people not only want to read the news, they want to see the news, hear the news and live the news.” Afterwards, the Vice Chancellor of ULAB, Professor Dr Jahirul Huq, gave a speech where he spoke about the contribution of journalism in the development of the country. He concluded by warning everyone to avoid cheap and fake news.

The guests present in the public discussion included: Mustafiz Shafi, acting editor of the daily Samakal; Tushar Abdullah, head of news of SomoyTV; Andalib Rashdi, writer and critic; Salimullah Khan, critic and public intellectual; and Afsan Chowdhury, journalist and researcher. Mustafiz Shafi talked about journalists and their responsibilities while Afsan Chowdhury explained how the government has been handling the media by imposing different laws. Andalib Rashdi elaborated on the youth election manifesto, whereas Salimullah Khan covered various important aspects about journalism and pointed out how some newspapers are often reluctant to show full truth in news coverage. Tushar Abdullah talked about how tough it is to be a journalist in Bangladesh.

After the discussion ended, students asked questions pertaining to debates and issues involving the country’s journalism. The program ended with a speech by Dr Jude William Genilo, head of MSJ. He spoke about the rich and advanced curriculum of journalism at ULAB. “We always monitor what the industry needs”, he added. Two MSJ students — Zareen Islam and Mahee Azreen – hosted the entire event.

MSJ organises ‘Reporter’s Diary’

Dr Jude handing over a crest to Mohsin-ul-Hakim.


Media Studies and Journalism (MSJ) department at University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh organised “Reporter’s Diary” at the university auditorium on December 6, 2018. “Reporter’s Diary” is a signature event of MSJ that features a senior reporter who has a wonderful track record in journalistic reporting. The purpose of bringing the reporter is to give ULAB students a chance to seek knowledge through experiences of the guest by hearing his stories and interacting with him. Fall 2018 featured Mohsin-ul-Hakim, special correspondent of Jamuna TV.

At the outset, MSJ faculty member Abu Tayub Mohammed Farhad introduced the guest to the audience and talked about the contribution of Mohsin-ul-Hakim to journalism through his extensive reporting on the Sundarbans. Then Mohsin took the floor and shared his experience based on reporting the Sundarbans. The main attraction of the program was the question-answer session where he addressed the various queries of the students. Replying to one question, he said it is possible to bring a positive change in journalism through increasing moral education among journalism students. At the end of the event, Dr Jude William Genilo, head of MSJ, delivered vote of thanks and handed over a crest to the chief guest.

Mohsin-ul-Hakim speaking at Reporter’s Diary.

2nd CI forum on ‘Youth Empowerment’ concludes

Discussants on a question-answer session.
A view of the audience consisting faculty members and students.


The second Curriculum Integration (CI) forum for Fall 2018 was held at Campus A Auditorium on November 15, 2018. Media studies and Journalism (MSJ) department of University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh (ULAB) organised the event. The department conducts curriculum integration every semester to showcase creative works of the students and enable student interaction as well as strengthen links.

The theme for Fall 2018 is “Youth Empowerment”. “Youth Empowerment” is a process where children and young people are encouraged to take charge of their lives. They do this by addressing their situation and then take action in order to improve their access to resources and transform their consciousness through their beliefs, values, and attitudes. Youth empowerment aims to improve quality of life. Keeping relation with the unified theme, the CI forum features talks of three MSJ faculty members and a debate.

Unlike the first forum, the second forum began with a joint presentation by Kashfia Arif and Hiya Islam, two lecturers of MSJ.  Kashfia Arif mentioned how health is just not physical but also concerns with mental health. She also said how important it is to have a positive sense of self. Adding to that, Hiya Islam, spoke about how youths of Bangladesh live unhealthy lives. She observed that a good number of youths are being neglected. She said, “When we talk about the youth, we don’t think about domestic workers.” Both the discussants concluded their presentation asking: “Is it possible to be healthy in an unhealthy society?”

Next, Nandita Tabassum, senior lecturer, discussed “Youth-adult partnership”. As part of her discussion, she showed a couple of video clips, justifying how the adults can help the youth build capacity and leadership, and contribute to community development. The last segment of the program consisted of a debate on the motion “Bangladeshi government is pro-youth”. Akib Khan and Ibrahim Mojid were on the affirmative side and their coach was Abu Tayub Mohammed Farhad, a lecturer of MSJ. Dolon Champa Dutta and Mahmuda Binte Imam were on the negative side and their coach was Bikash Chandra Bhowmick, an assistant professor of MSJ. Muhammad Abdul Kader, assistant professor, played the role of the moderator.

A view of the intense debating session.


The CI forum ended with an interesting question-answer session. Students asked questions regarding the topics covered by the faculty members that day. PR4U, an apprenticeship program of MSJ, was in charge of event management. Its member Nazabat Hossain hosted the event.