Scholars Program Launched at DEH

Scholars Program Launched at DEH

Publish Date: 
Thursday, March 25, 2021

The Department of English and Humanities at the University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh (ULAB) launched a Scholars Program for its undergraduate students on March 25, 2021. The mission of the Scholars Program is to provide a platform for those high-achieving students who strive for academic excellence and are ready to explore extensive educational opportunities not covered by the standard curriculum.

Following a rigorous application process and interview, seven DEH students from the 3rd year onwards were selected to begin the program in Spring 2021. These students will have the opportunity for better intellectual engagement through specialized skill-building workshops, higher-level course audits, guided participation in conferences, and other academic pursuits.  By participating in this program, the selected students will have a better understanding of the liberal arts philosophy and create a large network of learners so that they can draw upon the resources of collaborative work. They will also learn how to work with professionals in different capacities and fields.


In his introductory comments, the Advisor of the Scholars Program, Dr. Sarkar Hasan Al Zayed congratulated the selected students and explained the objectives of the program and stressed the need for resilience in such an intensive academic opportunity.

Arifa Ghani Rahman, Head of DEH, appreciated the students’ enthusiasm to take on challenging projects to improve their academic competencies. She also noted that students’ participation in this program would enable them for the job market or higher studies.

Prof. Shamsad Mortuza, Pro Vice-Chancellor, ULAB, and Dean of the School of Arts and Humanities, emphasized that the students must combine knowledge and skills to not only make their mark but to become role-models and mentors to inspire others. The program was then formally inaugurated virtually by the Vice Chancellor of ULAB,



Prof. H M Jahirul Haque who, in his speech, praised this initiative of DEH and appreciated the department’s commitment to quality teaching. Professor Kaiser Haq, Professor Syed Manzoorul Islam, with all other faculty members and students of DEH, were also present in the event.



The ceremony, orchestrated by Nadia Rahman, ended with the scholar students introducing themselves and speaking about their reasons for joining the program.

The program launching event can be viewed at:


The seven students selected in the first round for the Scholars Program are:

Md. Mashiur Rahaman (173)

Md. Sahedul Islam Hira (181)

Fairuz Maliha Surma (181)

Noshin Nisa (181)

Sheikh Tasmima Mrenmoi (182)

Abida Alam (182)

Debjani Das (191)